Wireless Hotspots Project

Home/Projects/Completed Projects/Broadband/Wireless Hotspots Project

Project Partners: NOHFC, NorthernTel, Ontera and the five regional Community Futures Development Corporations (CFDCs)

In 2009, NEOnet secured support and funding from NOHFC and the 5 regional Community Futures Development Corporations (CFDCs), enabling the organization to move forward with the Wireless Hotspots Project.

80 wireless Internet access points are up and running in 14 North Eastern Ontario communities. French and English signage has been posted at all hotspot locations to ensure residents and travelers are aware of and utilize the available service.

NorthernTel will assume, for a period of two years the costs associated with the installation, maintenance, network hosting and monitoring, as well as the necessary bandwidth. The participating communities will then work with NEOnet, NOHFC, and NorthernTel to determine the sustainability of the access points, potentially assuming the related operational costs after the initial two years of approximately $70 a month per access point.
View Public Wireless Hotspot Locations in the NEOnet Region in a larger map

Black-River Matheson: Holtyre Community Centre, Val Gagné Hall, Vern Miller Memorial Community Centre, Matheson Curling Club and Ramore Hall

Town of Cobalt: Father Les Costello Memorial Arena, Cobalt Classic Theater and Cobalt Public Library

Town of Englehart: Englehart Public Library, Englehart Curling Club, Centennial Park and Englehart Arena

Town of Hearst: Gilles Gagnon Welcome Centre, Places des Arts, Hearst Child Care Centre, Claude Larose Arena and Club Action (once site has been constructed)

Town of Iroquois Falls: Iroquois Falls Public Library, Iroquois Falls Tourist Centre (once site has been constructed) and Jus Jordan Arena

Town of Kapuskasing: Riverside Park, Circle Park, Welcome Centre, Civic Centre and Library, Sports Palace and Kapuskasing Airport

Town of Kirkland Lake: Teck Pioneer Residence, Teck Centennial Library, Hockey Heritage North and Joe Mavrinac Community Complex

Town of Larder Lake: Larder Lake Public Library

Municipality of Mattice-Val Côté: Mattice Sports Complex

McGarry Township: Virginiatown Community Centre, McGarry Public Library, and McGarry Tourist Information Centre

Municipality of Moonbeam: Moonbeam Library, Moonbeam Community Centre and Tourist Centre

Town of Smooth Rock Falls: Reg Lamy Cultural Centre and Smooth Rock Falls Community Hall

Temiskaming Shores: New Liskeard Arena, Haileybury Arena, Temiskaming Shores Library (Haileybury and New Liskeard Branches), Haileybury Curling Club, and Haileybury Marina/Beach

City of Timmins: Hollinger Park, Gillies Lake (beach & sports field), Regional Athletics and Soccer Complex, Timmins Chamber of Commerce, Mattagami Waterfront (boat launch and playing field), Victor M. Power Airport, McIntrye Arena and Archie Dillon Sportsplex